Explore AIMS360's apparel business software
FREE DEMO
Which apparel ERPs have built-in EDI? 12 systems checked on their own sites by AIMS360
Home › Articles ›
Which Apparel ERPs Have Built-In EDI? 12 Checked (2026)
AIMS360 article
Shahrooz Kohan, CEO of AIMS360
by
Shahrooz Kohan

Which Apparel ERPs Have Built-In EDI? 12 Checked (2026)

Built-in EDI, checked

Which apparel ERPs have EDI built in? Twelve systems, checked on their own sites.

Retailer EDI is where apparel brands lose money quietly: an ASN that doesn't match the cartons, a late 855, a label that won't scan. Whether EDI lives inside your ERP or in a separate provider decides who fixes that, and what you pay for every document. We read each vendor's own pages on November 3, 2026 and laid out what each one says, who maps your retailers, and how the EDI is billed.

By , CEO, AIMS360. He wrote code inside apparel brands before running one of the ERPs they buy. Published November 3, 2026.

Short answer: seven of the twelve apparel and consumer brand ERPs we checked say EDI is part of their own system: AIMS360, Uphance, Sync, Fulfil, Cin7 Omni, the Aptean apparel editions and BlueCherry. ApparelMagic, NetSuite, Brightpearl and FDM4 connect to an EDI provider such as SPS Commerce or TrueCommerce. Ai2000 lists EDI as part of its platform without saying whether it runs its own. Built in is the first question, not the last. What decides your chargebacks and your EDI bill is who maps and tests each retailer, how EDI is billed at your volume, and whether the ASN is built from the cartons your warehouse or 3PL scanned.

Disclosure: AIMS360 publishes this guide and is one of the systems compared. Every competitor fact comes from that vendor's own page, read on November 3, 2026 and linked in the sources, except NetSuite, where the source is ERP Research because NetSuite doesn't describe an EDI engine of its own. Vendors change their pages, so check anything here before you sign.

Definitions

What does built-in EDI mean in an apparel ERP?

Three ways to run retailer EDI. The difference is where the maps live and who owns them when a retailer changes its spec.

Swipe the table sideways on a phone.
Model How it works Who fixes a rejected document How it's usually billed
ERP with built-in EDI and its own EDI team Purchase orders land as sales orders in the ERP. The vendor maps each retailer, tests with the retailer and keeps the maps current. The ERP vendor, end to end Varies; ask. AIMS360 bills per retailer with unlimited transactions
ERP with built-in EDI, set up by you or a partner The EDI engine sits inside the ERP, but someone on your side, or a consultant, configures each trading partner. Your team or your consultant Often per partner or per document; ask
ERP plus an EDI provider A provider such as SPS Commerce, TrueCommerce or Orderful holds the maps and the network, and a connector moves documents in and out of the ERP. Two vendors, plus the connector between them A second contract, commonly per document, per kilocharacter or per trading partner

The provider model is how most of the market started, and it works. Its weak point is the seam. The ERP knows what was picked; the provider knows what was promised to the retailer; the connector copies one to the other on a schedule. When they disagree, the 856 says one thing, the cartons say another, and the chargeback lands a few weeks later. Built-in EDI removes the seam, as long as the vendor also does the mapping and testing work the provider used to do. Our EDI provider vs built-in EDI page goes deeper on the architecture.

Comparison

Which apparel ERPs have built-in EDI?

Twelve systems apparel and consumer brands shortlist, as each vendor describes its EDI on November 3, 2026. Quotes are the vendors' own words.

Swipe the table sideways on a phone.
System EDI model, in the vendor's words Who maps your retailers How EDI is billed Notes
AIMS360 Built in: native EDI to 350+ retailers, run by AIMS360's own EDI team AIMS360's EDI team maps, tests, certifies and monitors each retailer Published: an EDI Service Bureau account with unlimited transactions, plus a trading partner add-on per retailer. No transaction, VAN or kilocharacter fees Amounts are in the quote. A few retailers mandate their own network, and AIMS360 connects to those as required
Uphance Built in: "native retailer EDI" that "runs directly inside Uphance" Not stated on the EDI page Not published Names Nordstrom, Macy's, Bloomingdale's and Saks; supports X12, EDIFACT and EANCOM
Sync (iSync) Built in: "Full EDI is built into Sync natively" "Set up, mapped and maintained by iSync" Not published; says no third-party EDI subscription Names the 850, 856, 810 and 846
Fulfil Built in: "EDI built into your ERP," with partner platforms as an option Built-in profiles for retailers like Target, Home Depot and Nordstrom; you map products and configure each partner Not published for built-in; "additional platform fees apply" for SPS Commerce, Orderful or CommerceHub Says 3 to 5 weeks per partner. Suggests built-in for 1 to 10 retail partners
Cin7 Omni: "built-in EDI connections." Core: "must use partner integrations" Core partners named: SPS Commerce, Crstl, Surpass Solutions Omni: no third-party EDI fees, per Cin7. Pricing page lists "EDI/3PL Connections: Via API & Partner Solution" Check which edition a quote is for
Aptean apparel editions Integrated: "Aptean EDI is integrated directly into your Aptean ERP"; Exenta lists "built-in EDI" Aptean, as a "built-in managed EDI service" Published as "pay-only-for-what-you-use pricing," with "no limits and no overreach fees" Ask which Aptean apparel edition the quote covers
BlueCherry (CGS) Suite capability: EDI listed with B2B wholesale and order management in BlueCherry's Sell tools Not stated on the home page Not published Ask for the live retailer list
Ai2000 (A2000) Listed: "seamless EDI integration" and an EDI section on its home page Not stated Not published Ask whether the EDI engine is Ai2000's own or a provider's
ApparelMagic Partner: "ApparelMagic can integrate with SPS Commerce" SPS Commerce SPS bills separately; ApparelMagic notes third-party providers "may charge" Imports orders, exports invoices and ASNs through SPS
NetSuite Provider: "no native EDI engine," per ERP Research The EDI provider you choose, such as SPS Commerce or TrueCommerce Provider pricing Source is third party (ERP Research)
Brightpearl Partner: SPS Commerce integration "Built and maintained by b.solutions," a Brightpearl partner SPS and partner pricing Brightpearl is part of Sage
FDM4 Partner: TrueCommerce, formerly DiCentral, listed as FDM4's EDI partner TrueCommerce Provider pricing Offers DiWeb, a hosted web EDI

Sources for every row are listed at the bottom of the page. "Not published" means we didn't find it on the vendor's site; it doesn't mean the vendor doesn't do it. Ask in the demo.

EDI is part of the vendor's own system

  • AIMS360
  • Uphance
  • Sync
  • Fulfil (with partner platforms as an option)
  • Cin7 Omni (Cin7 Core uses partners)
  • Aptean apparel editions (managed EDI)
  • BlueCherry

EDI runs through a provider or partner

  • ApparelMagic, through SPS Commerce
  • NetSuite, through a provider such as SPS Commerce or TrueCommerce
  • Brightpearl, through SPS Commerce, built by b.solutions
  • FDM4, through TrueCommerce (DiCentral)
  • Ai2000: not stated, ask
Buyer checklist

What should you ask about any ERP's EDI before you sign?

Five questions. The answers matter more than the word "native" on a product page.

  1. Who maps and tests each retailer, and how long does a new one take?Every retailer publishes its own spec and routing guide, and they change. Ask who reads them, who tests with the retailer before go-live, and who updates the map when the retailer changes it. Ask for the last three retailers added and how long each took.
  2. How is EDI billed at your volume?Per document, per kilocharacter, per trading partner, or a flat fee? Model a peak month, not an average one. Metered EDI grows with every order, ASN and invoice, so at high volume it can pass the cost of the ERP itself.
  3. Is the 856 built from the pack scan?The ASN, the GS1-128 carton labels and the 810 invoice should come from the same pack scan, in your warehouse or in the 3PL's 945 shipment confirmation. If someone retypes carton contents, chargebacks follow.
  4. Where do deductions land?Retailers take chargebacks and shortage claims off the 820 remittance. Ask whether each deduction is matched to its invoice and order in the ERP, so it can be disputed inside the retailer's window. See chargeback management.
  5. Does it cover your dropship programs?Retailer dropship programs, CommerceHub (now part of Rithum) and the 846 inventory feed run on EDI too. Ask which of your retailers and programs are live on the system today, not just "supported."
Fair call

When is an EDI provider still the right call?

Built in isn't always the answer. A provider makes sense in these cases.

A provider fits when

  • Your ERP is a general system with no EDI engine, such as NetSuite
  • You already trade with many partners through SPS Commerce or TrueCommerce, it works, and nobody is rekeying
  • Most of your trading partners are distributors or suppliers outside retail, on a VAN
  • Your partners are already live on a platform and you don't want to rebuild them; Fulfil, for one, suggests SPS Commerce or Orderful in that case

Built-in EDI pays off when

  • Your wholesale book includes department stores and specialty chains with strict routing guides
  • Chargebacks are a line item finance tracks every month
  • The ASN has to match cartons packed in your own warehouse or at a 3PL
  • Your EDI bill rises with every document, and volume is growing

Switching an existing retailer from a provider to built-in EDI means remapping and retesting that retailer, so most brands move retailer by retailer rather than all at once.

AIMS360

How does AIMS360's built-in EDI work?

EDI is part of the ERP, run by AIMS360's own EDI team, and licensed per retailer rather than metered per document.

Swipe the table sideways on a phone.
Question AIMS360
Retailers 350+ retailers, bulk and dropship, including Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack, Macy's, Dick's Sporting Goods, Wayfair, Costco, TJ Maxx, Marshalls, Burlington and Sephora. See retailers on AIMS360 EDI.
Who maps and tests AIMS360's own EDI team handles the mapping, testing, certification and monitoring for each retailer, and keeps the maps current when a retailer changes its spec.
Billing An EDI Service Bureau account with unlimited transactions, plus a trading partner add-on for each retailer. No transaction, VAN or kilocharacter fees. See pricing.
Documents 850, 855, 860, 856, 810, 820, 846, 852, 753, 754 and 997, plus 940, 943, 944, 945 and 947 for warehouses and 3PLs
ASN and labels The 856 and the GS1-128 carton labels come from the same carton data, packed in your warehouse or imported from the 3PL's 945.
Deductions Every deduction is tracked to resolution by dollar amount. See chargeback management.
Dropship Retailer dropship programs run at volume: order in, ship confirm with tracking out, invoice generated. See dropship EDI and CommerceHub.
Support Free, unlimited support with 24/7 emergency coverage on every plan.

The same stock record serves EDI orders, Shopify, wholesale portals and marketplaces, so a retailer PO and a DTC checkout can't take the same unit. More on built-in EDI in AIMS360 and on who AIMS360 is for.

FAQ

Built-in EDI in apparel ERPs: FAQ

Direct answers to what brands ask when they compare EDI across ERPs.

Of the twelve systems we checked on November 3, 2026, seven say EDI is part of their own system: AIMS360, Uphance, Sync, Fulfil, Cin7 Omni, the Aptean apparel editions and BlueCherry. ApparelMagic, NetSuite, Brightpearl and FDM4 use an EDI provider such as SPS Commerce or TrueCommerce. Ai2000 lists EDI without saying whose engine it is. See the comparison table above.

With built-in EDI, retailer purchase orders land directly as sales orders in the ERP and the ASN, labels and invoice come from the ERP's own shipment data. With an EDI provider such as SPS Commerce or TrueCommerce, the provider holds the maps and the network, a connector copies documents between the two systems, and you pay a second contract. The provider vs built-in EDI page covers it in depth.

ApparelMagic's own integration page says it "can integrate with SPS Commerce" to import orders and export invoices and advance shipping notices, and notes that third-party providers may charge for their services. We didn't find an EDI engine of ApparelMagic's own on its site.

Not according to ERP Research, which states that NetSuite "has no native EDI engine, so every EDI programme runs through a provider," such as SPS Commerce or TrueCommerce. We didn't find an EDI engine described on NetSuite's own pages either.

Yes. Uphance's EDI page says it runs native retailer EDI directly inside Uphance, covering POs, ASNs, invoices and acknowledgements with GS1-128 labels, and names Nordstrom, Macy's, Bloomingdale's and Saks. It doesn't publish how EDI is billed or how many retailers are live.

It depends on the model. EDI providers commonly bill a platform subscription plus per document or per kilocharacter charges and VAN fees, so the bill grows with order volume. AIMS360 licenses EDI as a Service Bureau account with unlimited transactions plus a trading partner add-on per retailer, with no transaction, VAN or kilocharacter fees. Aptean describes its EDI as pay only for what you use. Most other vendors we checked don't publish EDI pricing. See AIMS360 plans.

AIMS360's own EDI team. It handles the mapping, testing, certification and monitoring for each retailer, and keeps the maps current when a retailer changes its spec, so adding a retailer doesn't mean adding a vendor. See built-in EDI.

More than 350, for bulk and dropship, including Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack, Macy's, Dick's Sporting Goods, Wayfair, Costco, TJ Maxx, Marshalls, Burlington and Sephora. See the retailer list.

Yes. Most brands switch retailer by retailer: each one is remapped and retested on the new system, then cut over, while the rest stay on the provider until their turn. Plan around each retailer's testing calendar and avoid cutting over in peak season. See implementation.

It removes one common cause: an ASN that doesn't match the cartons, because the 856, the GS1-128 labels and the invoice come from the same pack scan instead of being copied between systems. Chargebacks still come from late shipments, routing errors and label placement, so the mapping and testing work matters as much as the architecture. See chargeback management.

Sources and notes

Where the EDI facts on this page come from

All read on November 3, 2026. AIMS360 facts (350+ retailers, how EDI is licensed, the EDI team, support) are from AIMS360's own EDI and pricing pages.

  1. Uphance, Apparel EDI software built into your ERP: native retailer EDI inside Uphance; Nordstrom, Macy's, Bloomingdale's and Saks named; X12, EDIFACT and EANCOM.
  2. iSync Solutions, Sync apparel ERP: "Full EDI is built into Sync natively - 850, 856, 810, 846 and more"; maps "set up, mapped and maintained by iSync."
  3. Fulfil, EDI integration software built into your ERP: built-in EDI; 3 to 5 weeks per partner; partner platforms SPS Commerce, Orderful, CommerceHub with "additional platform fees"; built-in suggested for 1-10 retail partners.
  4. Cin7, EDI integration software: Omni "built-in EDI connections"; Core "must use partner integrations" such as SPS Commerce, Crstl and Surpass Solutions.
  5. Cin7, Pricing: EDI/3PL Connections listed as "Via API & Partner Solution."
  6. Aptean, Aptean EDI integrated software solution overview: "integrated directly into your Aptean ERP"; "built-in managed EDI service"; "pay-only-for-what-you-use pricing. No limits and no overreach fees."
  7. Aptean, Exenta ERP: "built-in EDI for seamless communication."
  8. CGS, BlueCherry: EDI listed with B2B wholesale, order management and eCommerce integration under Sell.
  9. Ai2000, Ai2000 apparel ERP: "an end-to-end solution that simplifies operations from procurement to distribution with seamless EDI integration."
  10. ApparelMagic, SPS Commerce integration: "can integrate with SPS Commerce"; third-party providers "may charge." Page updated May 26, 2026.
  11. ERP Research, EDI for NetSuite: "NetSuite has no native EDI engine, so every EDI programme runs through a provider."
  12. Brightpearl, SPS Commerce Sell: "built and maintained by b.solutions, a trusted Brightpearl partner."
  13. FDM4, TrueCommerce, EDI solution partner: TrueCommerce listed as FDM4's EDI partner; "DiCentral is now TrueCommerce"; DiWeb web EDI.

Product names are trademarks of their owners. AIMS360 is not affiliated with any vendor named on this page.

Bring a retailer PO and your last chargeback list

We'll walk a real purchase order through to the ASN, labels and invoice in AIMS360, and show where each deduction on your list would have been caught.